The Wonder Of It All

29 09 2006

“Behold, I lay in Sion a chief corner stone, elect, precious: and he that believeth on him shall not be confounded. Unto you therefore which believe he is precious…”
(1 Peter 2:6,7, KJV)

Gypsy Smith preached until a ripe old age. He came into the Life of God through the ministry of D.L. Moody, having grown up among a family of gypsies and was known for his joy-filled disposition. The Lord used him greatly as he preached between Europe and America and on one such junket, as he sailed across the Atlantic on his way to yet another speaking engagement, an admirer asked him, “How do you do it, Mr. Smith? How do you stay so fresh in the things of the Lord?”

His answer itself was fresh and insightful: “Because, dear friend, I’ve never lost the wonder of it all.”

 

Once so aimlessly I wandered round the tangled paths of sin.
All about me seemed so hopeless, Doubts and fears without, within.
Then a voice so kind and gentle Spoke sweet peace unto my soul.
Gone my days of sin and wandering, Since the Savior made me whole.

 

Now my life is full of gladness, All my days are filled with joy.
I no longer walk in sadness, Happy songs my lips employ.
For I’ve learned the wondrous secret Only those in Christ can know.
‘Tis the peace of sins forgiven–Joy that makes my glad heart glow.

I have never lost the wonder of it all.
I have never lost the wonder of it all!
Since the day that Jesus saved me and a whole new life He gave me,
I have never lost the wonder of it all!
(Lyrics by Alfred Smith)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

