O Love Divine, How Sweet Thou Art!

18 04 2011

O love divine, how sweet thou art!

When shall I find my willing heart

All taken up by thee?

I thirst, I faint, I die to prove

The greatness of redeeming love,

The love of Christ to me.

Stronger His love than death or hell;

Its reaches are unsearchable;

The first born sons of light

Desire in vain its depths to see;

They cannot reach the mystery

The length, and breadth, and height.

God only knows the love of God;

O that it now were shed abroad

In this poor stony heart!

For love I sigh, for love I pine;

This only portion, Lord, be mine,

Be mine this better part.

O that I could forever sit

With Mary at the Master’s feet;

Be this my happy choice;

My only care, delight, and bliss,

My joy, my heaven on earth, be this

To hear the Bridegroom’s voice.

O that, with humbled Peter, I

Could weep, believe, and thrice reply,

My faithfulness to prove.

Thou know’st, (for all to Thee is known),

Thou know’st, O Lord, and Thou alone,

Thou know’st that Thee I love.

O that I could, with favored John,

Recline my weary head upon

The dear Redeemer’s breast!

From care, and sin, and sorrow free,

Give me, O Lord, to find in Thee

My everlasting rest.

Thy only love do I require,

Nothing on earth beneath desire,

Nothing in heaven above;

Let earth, and heaven, and all things go,

Give me Thy only love to know,

Give me only Thy love.

–Charles Wesley

Actions

Information

2 responses

19 04 2011
Thanks, Chuck, I Needed This « Green P@stures

[…] Wanna just get caught up in Jesus and pour oil on His feet today? Go here. […]

17 09 2013
財布 かわいい

時計 レディース バーバリー

Leave a Reply

